RSSSubscribe to the Pinecastle Records news RSS feed.

News about Pinecastle Records artists, bands, and new bluegrass releases

Three New Singles from Pinecastle Records

Wednesday, February 26, 2014
Phil Leadbetter - The Next Move

The first single from the album, "Ramblin Rollin' Stone," features Sam Bush and John Cowan.
Get "Ramblin Rollin' Stone" on AirPlay Direct

After a fight with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma in 2011, a healthy Phil Leadbetter is back on the road and actively working on the follow up to the IBMA Instrumental Recording of the Year Slide Effects. The album, titled The Next Move, is shaping up to be an exciting collaboration with Phil’s friends including: Jerry Douglas, Rob Ickes, Mike Bub, Shawn Camp, Steve Wariner, Joe Diffie, Marty Raybon, Sierra Hull, Sam Bush, Kenny Smith, and many more. Leadbetter is currently touring with multiple IBMA Female Vocalist of the Year winner, Dale Ann Bradley as well as performing with his family band, The Leadbetters.

Steve Thomas Thanks Attendees for “Ashes of Love” Benefit Concert

Monday, February 24, 2014


New Releases from Pinecastle for 2014

Thursday, January 30, 2014

Pinecastle Records has been staying busy this winter and is excited to announce a busy 2014 release schedule full of great American roots music releases. New releases will include albums by The Osborne Brothers, The Farm Hands Quartet, Wildfire, The Gentlemen of Bluegrass, I Draw Slow, Phil Leadbetter, and Matt Wallace. more...

Matt Wallace, "For a Season," Coming March 11th!

Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Matt Wallace is set to release his solo recording, For a Season, with Pinecastle Records on March 11th, 2014. The first single from the album, "Old Man Winter," has already been released to radio. Also, the album is now available for pre-order on iTunes for for the reduced price of $7.99 until the release date. Wallace is a young, up and coming musician in the bluegrass world. He is currently the bassist for Pinecastle artists Mark Newton and Steve Thomas, and is currently playing tour dates with Terry Baucom as well. He lives in his boyhood hometown of Knoxville, TN, where he started playing bass at the age of ten. After playing collegiate baseball, he began pursuing his passion for music. He has toured with some of the best in bluegrass including David Parmley and Continental Divide, Audie Blaylock and Redline, Pine Mountain Railroad, and Paul Williams and The Victory Trio. Wallace made his Grand Ole Opry debut in 2012 performing with the legendary Jesse McReynolds. When not on tour he stays in high demand as a fill-in and session bass player.


Lorraine Jordan and Carolina Road Celebrate 2 Months at #1

Wednesday, January 08, 2014

The latest single from Lorraine Jordan and Carolina Road, "That's Kentucky," spent two months, November and December, at #1 on the Bluegrass Today Monthly Airplay ChartIt also appeared at #14 on Bluegrass Today's top singles of the year. The single is from their self-titled debut on Pinecastle Records and is still sitting at #3 on the monthly chart. The band recorded a video for the single last fall, which fans have been enjoying ever since. Pinecastle and Lorraine Jordan and Carolina Road would like to thank all the fans and DJs for making the album and "That's Kentucky" such a success. more...

Pinecastle Artists Nominated for 2013 IBMA Awards

Friday, August 16, 2013
We are pleased to announce that  the following Pinecastle artists have been nominated for the 2013 IBMA Awards. more...

Lorraine Jordan and Carolina Road Sign with Pinecastle Records

Wednesday, July 10, 2013

Pinecastle Records is proud to announce they have signed Lorraine Jordan and Carolina Road to their roster and a new single, “All We Ever Do Is Say Goodbye" written by Terry Foust and Ray Edwards, from their upcoming self-titled album is now available for radio stations everywhere from AirPlay Direct. The band’s traditional sound and longevity have made it a perennial favorite among bluegrass festival-goers across the country for over a decade. The new release will be available September 10, 2013 and features the baritone vocals and guitar picking of Tommy Long along with outstanding traditional musicians Josh Goforth on the fiddle and Ben Greene on the banjo who have been with the band nine years. Band leader Lorraine Jordan on mandolin and tenor vocals along with John Bradley on bass round out this extremely talented band.
Check out the new single "All We Ever Do Is Say Goodbye"

Mark Newton and Steve Thomas Sign with Pinecastle Records

Tuesday, January 08, 2013

Pinecastle Records is proud to announce that it has signed Mark Newton and Steve Thomas to its roster. Their debut album is titled Reborn and will be released on April 9, 2013. With the two banded together, the "sideman" becomes a "frontman," and the "frontman" becomes a "partner." Both men are native Virginians who both struck out seperately in the music business decades ago, with both having completely different experiences. Now that both of their paths have converged, they are eager to blend their various musical flavors together to share with bluegrass and Americana fans everywhere. They are joined by bass player Matt Wallace who rounds out the trio that will be touring the country. more...

Niall Toner, Onwards and Upwards, Now Available on Pinecastle Records

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Irish bluegrass songsmith, Niall (Neil) Toner, has released his first U.S. album,Onwards and Upwards, on Pinecastle Records. Growing up in Ireland, a childhood friend of Toner's introduced him to the music of Bill Monroe, and from then on he was hooked on bluegrass music. Through the years he has befriended, and written songs  for bluegrass musicians who have visited Ireland in addition to being Ireland's bluegrass ambassador. He even has his own radio show, Roots Freeway, which is broadcast on Ireland's national radio station, RTE Radio One. With Toner being a lifelong songwriter,Onwards and Upwards is full of stories from his masterful pen. In preparation for the album, Toner wrote or co-wrote each tune on the album. He collaborated with Keith Sewell on four tunes with Sewell also producing the album. The deluxe booklet included with the CD version includes Toner's own accounts of writing each song as well as photographs from the studio sessions. more...

Robert Hale's New Solo Album, Pure & Simple, Available Now

Friday, August 17, 2012

Columbus, NC - August 28, 2012 - Wildfire frontman Robert Hale has released his first solo album, Pure and Simple, on Pinecastle Records. For the recording sessions, Hale called on his old bandmates from Livewire, Scott Vestal on banjo, Wayne Benson on mandolin, and Ernie Sykes on bass. Joining them are Steve Thomas on fiddle, Randy Kohrs on dobro, along with Shawn Lane and Alecia Nugent on harmony vocals. Hale's song selection is a direct reflection of the music that has influenced him most through the years. The group pays homage to Lynyrd Skynard with “Pure and Simple” and turn right around and knock out Reno and Smiley's “There's Another Baby Waiting For Me Down The Line”. The result is an exciting mix of bluegrass and country featuring four Robert Hale originals including the blazing instrumental, “Dirt Poor” and the country ballad, “You're Wrong”. Hale concludes the project with a grassed up version of Stevie Wonder's "Sir Duke" showcasing the instrumental prowess and versatility of the band. more...

1 2 Next